Don’t Miss It!

sunset-feathers

I rushed headlong towards the front door, in hopes that I could enjoy a few moments to myself.  Beyond that frame lay a wild world of skulking bears, whooping Indians, and savvy marksmen.  The sun had about a half hour left before it retired, and I was anxious to get in at least one more chapter of The Last of the Mohicans.

I know; I thought it was only a movie, too.  Turns out, there’s this incredible novel that inspired it.  Extended prose, powerful imagery, and an enchanted narrative all made for a welcome repose in the sunset.

I had forgotten the thrill of traipsing through a classic work of fiction.  It seems, these days, the only vistas I stopped to enjoy were pixelated and packaged.  Why behold the sunrise when you can watch the latest from Fox News?  The sun careening through the sky simply doesn’t move fast enough to keep my interest.

Now, I’m not opposed to technology.  I’m using it right now, obviously.  I simply don’t know what we’re missing by its use.  The human creature is only capable of focusing on one thing at a time.  It’s why I hold a finger up to shoosh one child while I listen to the other.  It’s why texting and driving don’t even belong in the same paragraph.   It’s why you can go out of your mind for lack of sleep if you can’t get out of your mind.

If we’re only given a few fleeting moments on this earth, we have to be very careful how we expend them.  It may very well be that God had greater intentions for us, and so much more to say; we simply weren’t placid enough to receive it.  Our world is in turmoil, and I think it’s largely because the Church has hit her snooze button.  We’re as brain-dead as our culture, welcoming the assault of information, when we should be salt of Gospel dissemination.

I’m not saying to sell your cell, or burn your burner phone, although if you have one, you may have graver concerns.  All I’m saying is that it’s a matter of priority.  Keep things in order, and be diligent.  They will not order themselves.  You have to be proactive, setting aside time to ponder and pray, to study to show thyself approved, to seek ye first the kingdom of God.

If you can do that, your life will be an adventure akin to that of the Mohican.  Just beware of the bears.

 

Leave a comment